Hartford vs. Albany
May 3, 2003
The Game Story:
WEST HARTFORD, Conn.-Freshman attackman Chris Martocchia scored three goals and sophomore Kevin Rae made nine saves as Albany defeated Hartford, 7-5, to win its first America East Men's Lacrosse Championship at Al-Marzook Field. Rae, who made 16 saves in Albany's 11-5 semifinal win over Stony Brook Wednesday, was named the championship's Most Outstanding Player.

Martocchia tallied twice as the second-seeded Great Danes (10-5) scored five unanswered goals over a 20-minute stretch. His goal with 1:30 left in the second quarter put Albany up 3-2 and gave the Great Danes a lead they would not relinquish.

Hartford (9-8) took a 2-0 lead in the first quarter on goals by Garett Kikot and Travis Eckler. Brendan Russell scored his first of two goals with 48 seconds left in the first quarter to cut the Hawk lead in half.

Matthew Green's goal with 3:25 left in the second quarter tied the game, 2-2, before Martocchia closed the first half scoring to give the Great Danes a 3-2 lead at the break.

Martocchia added his second of the game with 10:44 left in the third quarter and Michael Solazzo increased the lead to 5-2 less than a minute later. Raweras Mitchell scored with 6:17 left in the third to cut the lead to 5-3, but Russell answered with his second goal with 4:17 left to give the Great Danes a 6-3 lead after three quarters.

Andrew Rohmer's goal four minutes into the fourth quarter again cut the Great Dane lead to two goals, but Martocchia scored for the third time with 7:34 left for a 7-4 advantage. Eckler scored his second of the game and 42nd of the season with 1:36 left but the Hawks could not get no closer.

Rorke Greene, an all-championship selection, made nine saves for the Hawks.

The Great Danes (10-5), winners of six straight, advance to the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship. The pairings for the16-team field will be announced Sunday, May 4 at 8 p.m. on ESPN News. First-round games begin May 10 on campus sites.

Rae and Greene were joined on the All-Championship team by Luke Daquino, Luke Smith and Emil Bove of Albany, Eugene Fusco and Tom Fallica of Hartford, Jason Cappadoro and Kyle Pearl of Stony Brook, and Brent Wilson and Lowell Thompson over Vermont.