Limestone vs. Catawba
April 25, 2009
The Game Story:
Gaffney, S.C. – No. 8 Limestone men’s lacrosse had 14 different players record goals, powering the Saints past Catawba, 24-5, on Saturday. Limestone improves to 10-3 overall, having already claimed the Conference Carolinas championship last weekend. Catawba completes its season with a 4-9 overall record.

The Saints out shot the Indians 56 to 23 and beat them in groundballs 30 to 20. In 45 minutes of play, James Tuohy (Levittown, N.Y.) made 8 saves on 18 shots. Catawba’s Brad Ross, Colin McClimas, and Michael Pecchia combined for 11 saves.

Jake Rogalia (Liverpool, N.Y.) had a game high 4 assists for Limestone, feeding Brian Patridge (Columbus, Ohio), Thomas Langan (Potomac, Md.), and Jason Brammall (Greensborough, Australia) for the first 3 goals of the game. Rogalia would score the game’s 4th goal off a Sam Buppert (Eldersburg, Md.) feed.

Brendan Storrier (Lafayette, N.Y.) and Buppert would each a pair of goals and Mike Poerstel (Annapolis, Md.) netted his 25th goal of the season to expand the Saints lead, 8-0.

Catawba would break the ice with 12:04 left in the half on an unassisted goal from Walter McDonough. The Indians would hang two more goals in the quarter to bring the score to 13-3 at the midway point.

Limestone opened the second half much like the first, netting four goals, before Catawba answered with a goal from Cameron Kent.

For the Saints, Mason Mundell (Severna Park, Md.), Jackson Decker (Port Moody, British Columbia), and Jayson Brown (Oswego, N.Y.) all scored their first collegiate goals on Saturday. Brian Zwick (Dublin, Ohio) had a career high 6 groundballs.

Saturday’s victory marks Limestone’s 11th consecutive season with 10 or more wins.

Prior to the game, the Saints honored the senior class and their families. The class of 2009 consisted of ten seniors: Sean Bennett (East Moriches, N.Y.), Jason Brammall (Greensborough, Australia), CJ Ciaravino (Linden, Mich.), Mat Fields (Poolesville, Md.), Greg Kacinko (Johns Creek, Ga.), Mike Medrano (Long beach, N.Y.), Brendan Storrier (Lafayette, N.Y.), James Tuohy (Levittown, N.Y.), Eric Turner (Dublin, Ohio), and Mark Verrilli (Manassas, Va.).

Limestone will now await the NCAA DII men’s lacrosse selection process. Limestone is current ranked #1 in the Southern Region, followed by #2 St. Leo and #3 Mars Hill. The NCAA will announce the regional selections, as well as an at-large bid on Sunday, May 3.