Limestone vs. Pfeiffer
April 12, 2008
The Game Story:
GAFFNEY, S.C.-- No. 3 Limestone College defeated Conference Carolinas-rival Pfeiffer University in men's lacrosse action on Saturday, 16-4, at Saints Field. The Saints improved to 10-0 with the victory (5-0 league) as the Falcons fall to 3-8 overall (1-4 conference).

The Saints outshot Pfeiffer 46-25 and had the 46-30 advantage on ground balls. Limestone won 13 of the gameís 22 faceoffs.

It was Senior Day for the Saints, and Limestone saw solid play from the 2008 graduating class. AJ Vaughn (Skaneateles, N.Y.,) led all scorers with six goals while tallying an assist for seven points. Greg Kacinko (Alpharetta, Ga.) and Jay Tranello (Syracuse, N.Y.) also chipped in a goal apiece. Justin Haworth (Deer Park, N.Y.) dished out a game-high three assists. Brock Spilker (Pasadena, Md.) also assisted on a goal. Defender Mike Piccin (Agawam, Mass.) picked up five ground balls.

The Saintsí CJ Ciarvino (Linden, Mich.) was 11-18 on faceoffs and picked up 6 ground balls. Teddy Prager (Seaford, N.Y.) had a game-high four caused turnovers. Goalkeeper James Tuohy (Levittown, N.Y.) had nine saves in 56 minutes of play before being relieved by Tony Kvitko (Columbus, Ohio).

The Falcons had goals from Eddie Gourley (Damascus, Md.), Chad Olsen (Great Mills, Md.), Robert Adams (Mooresville, NC), and Shawn Cross (Cranberry, Twp., Pa.). James Rutledge (Charlotte, N.C.) led the Falcons with five ground balls. Rutledge and Anthony LaMarca (Sayville, N.Y.) each had three caused turnovers. Goalkeeper Pat Martin (Leanordtown, Md.) posted 12 saves.

Both teams will begin Conference Carolinas tournament play next week. The first round of the tournament will be held on campus sites on April 15, while the semifinals and finals of the tournament will be hosted by Limestone College in Gaffney.

Limestone, having clinched the #1 seed in the tournament and the regular season conference title, will receive a bye in the first round and will play at 11 a.m. on Friday in the semifinals. The 2008 Conference Carolinas menís lacrosse championship will be played April 20 at Saints Field at 3 p.m. Visit for more information.