Limestone vs. Belmont Abbey
April 20, 2008
The Game Story:
Junior attackman Michael Brown scored the go-ahead goal with 11 seconds left as the Belmont Abbey men's lacrosse team upset the third-ranked Limestone Saints 11-10 on its home field to capture the 2008 Conference Carolinas Championship. The Abbey won its ninth-straight game as it improves to 9-4 while handing the Saints its first loss of the year, as they fall to 12-1. The Crusaders claim their first Conference title in the program's three-year history. Today marks the first time since 1999 that Limestone has not won its conference tournament title.

Along with Brown, who scored three goals on 12 shots and posted one assist, Jedd Gardner added three goals while Aaron Flood and Miles Elliott finished with a pair. Matt Spivey added the other. Brian Watson led the way with three assists, while Brown, Joey Peruzzi and Jon Fugitt each had one.

Defensively, Tom Ottman led all players with four caused turnovers while scooping up three ground balls. Watson and Tristan Keas led the way with four ground balls as the Abbey finished with 25. Goalkeeper Mark Kelske made ten saves, including five in the third period. He also had a ground ball and a caused turnover.

The Abbey trailed 2-1 after the first period but outscored the Saints 4-1 in the second quarter as Flood scored both of his goals in the period, with Brown and Gardner adding the other, as the Crusaders built a 5-3 lead at the half.

Limestone outscored the Crusaders 4-3 in the third quarter as the Abbey held a slim 8-7 lead going into the final stanza. Brown extended the lead to 9-7 off of a feed from Fugitt at the 13:20 mark. The two teams traded goals over the next two minutes, with a tally by Gardner giving the Crusaders a 10-8 lead with 10:37 left.

Limestone scored the next two goals, at the 9:39 mark and the 6:09 mark, to knot the game at ten, but it would not score again as Brown buried the game winner with 11 seconds left for the winning goal. Neither team registered another shot as the Abbey held on for its first conference championship in the programís history.

Kelske was named the Tournament MVP after posting 42 saves on 112 shots (61 percent) and giving up just 27 goals in 179 minutes.