Mercyhurst vs. Nyit
May 2, 2009
The Game Story:
Erie, Pa. (May 2, 2009) - The Mercyhurst College men's lacrosse team survived a fourth quarter rally by No. 3 NYIT to hold on for a 6-5 win this afternoon in East Coast Conference action. The loss drops the Bears to 10-2 on the season and 4-2 in the conference, while Mercyhurst improves to 11-3 overall and 4-2 in the ECC.

The Bears opened up a 1-0 lead six minutes into the game as junior Rob Le Guen (Melbourne, Australia) scored on senior Jeremy Hobson's assist. Mercyhurst's Tyler Burton scored the only other goal of the quarter with 1:03 on the clock to tie the score at 1-1.

Senior Matt Messina (Sayville, N.Y.) regained the lead for NYIT less than a minute into the second quarter, but Mercyhurst would respond in a big way as the Lakers defense held the Bears scoreless for the next 36 minutes, a stretch that spanned the second, third and fourth quarters. The Lakers meanwhile, scored four unanswered goals, including two from Aaron Manzer and Burton's second of the game, to build a 5-2 lead with 9:20 to play in the third quarter.

Neither team found the back of the net for the next 13 minutes, until NYIT sophomore Ryan Amengual (West Babylon, N.Y.) broke the Bears scoreless streak , scoring with 8:17 to play in the fourth. Mike Bartlett answered just over a minute later for the Lakers, and his goal to make the score 6-3 proved to be an important one, as the Bears would score the next two goals. Messina netted his second of the game with 5:00 minutes remaining, and senior Keith Henderson (Port Jeff Station, N.Y.) scored with 2:36 to make it a 6-5 game. The Bears however, could not push another goal past Mercyhurst keeper Jason LaSchomb and the Lakers held on for the 6-5 win.

NYIT freshman William McGee (Rocky Point, N.Y.) made sevens saves in the loss, while his counterpart, LaSchomb made 12 saves for the Lakers

The Bears will have to wait for the selections to the 2009 Division II NCAA men's lacrosse championship to see if their season will continue. The selections will be made this Sunday night and will be broadcast on CBS Sports College Network, which is aired on Direct TV.