Swarthmore vs. Gettysburg
March 19, 2003
The Game Story:
SWARTHMORE, Pa. - Matt Twombly (New Canaan, CT/New Canaan) netted his first collegiate hat trick as fifth-ranked Gettysburg erupted for six second-quarter goals to defeat Swarthmore 8-4 in Centennial Conference (CC) men's lacrosse action on Wednedsay.

Twombly scored twice off feeds from Jake Van Nostrand (Baldwin, NY/Baldwin) in the decisive quarter to lift the Bullets (4-1, 1-0 CC) to their 35th straight conference victory. Kevin Smith (Baltimore, MD/McDonogh) also found the net twice to key the win.

Joseph DiSimone netted a pair of goals for the Garnet (2-3, 0-1 CC) while goalie Ryan Croken made 17 saves against 45 Gettysburg shots.

The Bullets never trailed after Peter Politi (Wilton, CT/Wilton) tallied an unassisted marker 3 minutes, 2 seconds into the game. Twombly made it 2-0 with 8:08 left in the first quarter, but Jeff Donlea answered for Swarthmore off an assist from John Murphy.

Twombly and DeSimone traded goals for a 3-2 Gettysburg lead early in the second quarter before the visitors exploded for the game-sealing run. Seventeen seconds after DeSimone's goal, Smith scored to start the 5-0 burst and make it 4-2. Twombly finished his hat trick off a Van Nostrand feed and John O'Bannon (Marshall, VA/Highland) cashed in his fourth goal of the season for a 6-2 lead.

Smith struck again with 4:00 left in the half, giving him five goals in the squad's first five games of the season. Sean McTernan (Cortlandt Manor, NY/Hendrick Hudson) capped the run with an unassisted goals just 26 seconds before the break to make it 8-2.

Croken and the Garnet defense kept the Bullets in check after halftime, but Swarthmore could only manage second-half goals from Tim Chryssikos and DeSimone, the latter coming with 17 seconds remaining.

The Garnet finished 2-for-8 on extra-man opportunities while Gettysburg went 0-for-5 in man-up situations.

The Bullets return to action on Saturday at Muhlenberg. Game time is 4 p.m. The Mules are playing their first varsity season since 1980.