Union vs. Vassar
April 21, 2012
The Game Story:
SCHENECTADY, NY – Seniors Ted McKenna and Ethan Meyer each had two goals and an assist to lead No. 11 Union men's lacrosse (8-3, 4-1 Liberty League) to a 14-0 win over Vassar (3-9, 0-5 Liberty League) in a driving rain storm on Senior Night at Frank Bailey Field.

With the win, Union clinched a spot in the Liberty League playoffs for the fifth consecutive season.

Sophomore attack Nate Greenberg added two goals as the Dutchmen had 11 different goal scorers in the contest.

Senior goalie Sean Aaron (one save), freshman goalie Stefan Basile (four saves) and sophomore goalie Devyn Jefferies combined for the shutout, Union's first since Paul Wehrum became head coach in 2007.

Union outshot Vassar 50-10 in total shots, held a 42-28 advantage on ground balls, and won 14-of-18 faceoffs on the night.

The Dutchmen raced out to an 8-0 lead in the first half and didn't look back. McKenna got things going early on for Union, scoring his 18th and 19th goals of the season at 8:51 and 4:33 of the first quarter to put the Dutchmen up 2-0. Freshman attack Adam Rosenthal, senior midfielder Will Mahony, and sophomore midfielder Greg Mooney added goals in the final four minutes of the quarter to give Union a 5-0 lead.

Senior midfielder Ethan Meyer, sophomore attack Rob Santangelo, and Greenberg added goals in the second quarter for Union.

In the second half, three different Union players notched their first career goals to help the Dutchmen seal the win. Meyer and Greenberg (man-up) scored at 11:39 and 10:20 of the third quarter to put Union up 10-0.

Sophomore midfielder Jake Quinn and freshman midfielder Nolan Sayre added their first career goals at 1:58 and :55 of the third quarter.

Junior midfielder Peter Griesinger scored his first goal of the season at 13:59 of the fourth quarter and senior midfielder Jack Farrell scored his first career goal from straightaway at 11:38 in his final regular season home game.

Union will take on Skidmore in its regular season finale next Saturday at 7:00 p.m. in Saratoga Springs, NY.