Wesley vs. Haverford
March 9, 2007
The Game Story:
DOVER, DE - Junior attack Mike Distler registered career-high's of five goals and nine groundballs along with two assists as visiting Haverford (1-2 overall) collected its first win of the season with an 11-4 victory over Wesley (2-2) Friday afternoon in non-conference men's lacrosse action. Haverford freshman goalie John-Paul Cashiola stopped eight shots on net to earn his first collegiate win.

Haverford freshman attack Brian Fleishhacker scored the game's lone first quarter goal with 6:08 left in the period off a pass by Distler. Wesley came back to tie the game at one 2:03 into the second quarter, but two unanswered goals by Distler gave the Fords a 3-1 halftime lead.

Both teams combined for seven goals in the third quarter. Haverford extended its lead to 5-1 after goals by freshman midfielder Andrew Kim and senior attack Max Tcheyan. Wesley answered with two goals of its own, but the Fords regained their four goal lead off two more goals by Distler. The Wolverines were able to cut the deficit to 7-4 at the end of the third quarter on Justin Thompson's second goal of the day.

The Fords defense shutout the Wolverines in the fourth quarter, allowing no goals over the final 15 minutes of play. Haverford junior midfielder Shane Hafer, Fleishhacker, Tcheyan and Distler each added one goal each as the Fords cruised to the 11-4 victory.

Fleishhacker ended the day with four points on two goals and two assists, while Tcheyan finished with two goals, one assist and two groundballs. Junior defender Joel Cesner collected six groundballs and sophomore midfielder Peter Hannapel won 10-of-15 faceoffs in the Haverford win.

Haverford out shot Wesley by a 42-24 margin in the game, and won 11-of-17 faceoffs. The Fords converted on three-of-five extra man opportunities and held Wesley no goals in five man-up chances. Haverford was successful on 17-of-21 clears while Wesley went 12-for-26 on clear attempts.

Haverford will travel to non-conference opponent Eastern on Monday for a 3:30 p.m. contest.