Widener vs. Kenyon
May 10, 2006
The Game Story:
5/10/06 -- Senior
Alan Krawitz (Havertown, PA) tied a season high with three goals for No. 18 Widener, which notched its first NCAA Tournament victory in school history with an 11-9 triumph at Kenyon in Gambier, OH.

Making their fifth appearance in the NCAA Tournament, the Pioneers (13-4) tied the team mark for most victories in a season (1998, 1999). They also won their 10th straight game to move within one of the school record from 2002.

Widener advances to the second round Saturday at No. 2 Gettysburg (16-1). Face-off is at 1:00 pm.

The 13th victory also sets a new single-season best for sixth-year coach Jamie Steele. The school’s winningest coach with 65 victories went 12-4 in 2002 and 2003.

Leading 7-6 after three quarters, Widener scored four of the next five goals in just over 10 minutes for an 11-7 lead. Sophomore Luke Weber (Lititz, PA) tallied 14 seconds into the fourth quarter and senior Dennis Mann (Havertown, PA) scored 44 seconds later for a 9-6 lead.

Brady Harvey netted one for the Lords (11-4) with 6:25 left to make it 9-7, but Krawitz scored twice in 62 seconds for a four-goal contest with 4:44 remaining. Krawitz also tallied three goals April 4 at DeSales.

Weber, Mann and junior Gavin Goane (Springfield, PA) all scored twice for Widener, which was outshot 28-26.

Senior Todd Fairlie (Broomall, PA), the Most Valuable Player from the Middle Atlantic Conference Tournament, scored once and dished four assists. It is his ninth game this season with at least five points and third in a row. The first team All-MAC pick has eight goals and eight assists over his last three contests.

Junior Andrew Johnson (Wallingford, PA) improved to 11-0 by making eight saves. Junior Darnell Jones (Severn, MD) and sophomore Brian Stromko (Maplewood, NJ) posted five ground balls apiece.

Harvey, Devin Caitlin and Luke Larson scored twice for Kenyon and Charlie Floeckher came up with 11 saves.

This marks the first NCAA Tournament victory for a school from the MAC. Widener has won nine MAC championships over the last 11 seasons.