Muhlenberg vs. Haverford
March 25, 2009
The Game Story:

ALLENTOWN, Pa. - A late lead slipped away in the fourth quarter at Muhlenberg College on Wednesday night, but the 14th-ranked Fords quickly ended the Mules' upset hopes in the overtime period when Travis Gregory scored to give Haverford the 8-7 victory.

Gregory scored on an extra-man opportunity just 35 seconds into the OT for a game-winning goal that pushed Haverford's season mark to 6-2 overall and 2-0 in the Centennial Conference while Muhlenberg fell to 0-6 and 0-3.

The Fords scored first in the night-time affair with a Brian Fleishhacker goal but the Mules answered back less than two minutes later for the games first tie score.

Eventually Haverford would take a 4-3 lead into the half and then would build that margin to 6-4 after the third quarter.

Ari Jacobson proved that his Mules were as stubborn as the nickname implied by scoring twice in the fourth period -- for three goals in a row -- to pull the hosts even at 6-6 with 5:58 to play.

Gregory's second goal of the game put Haverford up 7-6 with 5:44 showing on the scoreboard but John DeLuca would spoil the lead with a tying goal for the Mules at the 2:05 mark.

In the overtime, Haverford's Peter Hannapel would win the opening face-off with Gregory earning the ground ball to get the Fords rolling.

Twenty-four seconds after the opening face-off, Muhlenberg's Dan Dugan would take a penalty that created the man-up chance for the Fords. Eleven seconds later Gregory ended the game with his unassisted goal.

Gregory and Max Hjelm scored three goals apiece for Haverford while Gregory added three assists for a six-point night.

Hannapel, whose OT-opening face-off got the Fords the ball, finished the night with a stellar 10-for-17 record in face-offs.

Defensively, goalie Joe Banno earned the win making 15 saves for Haverford. Mike Horowitz took the loss in goal for the Mules stopping nine Fords shots.

The Fords continue conference action on Saturday when they'll travel to No. 8 Washington College for a 7 p.m. match-up between nationally-ranked squads.