Rochester Rattlers vs. Denver Outlaws
August 24, 2008
The Game Story:
Boston, Mass)…The Rochester Rattlers secured their first ever MLL Steinfeld Cup with a 16-6 victory over the Western Conference Denver Outlaws in the 2008 MLL Zip Championship game this afternoon at Harvard Stadium in Boston. Casey Powell was named the MVP of the playoffs.

Rochester was led by attackman Jeff Zywicki with a six-goal effort and John Grant finished with four goals and added one assist. Mike Levin and rookie goalkeeper Brett Queener each split a half between the pipes for Rochester, combining for a total of 16 saves.

Denver was led offensively by Ryan Powell’s three-point night (1 2) as Outlaws goalkeeper Jesse Schwartman made 13 saves in the losing effort.

Grant opened the scoring for Rochester five minutes into the contest with his first of three goals in the first half. The 2008 Bud Light MLL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year beat Schwartzman with a beautiful behind-the-back shot just under the crossbar. Zywicki and Defender of the Year Brodie Merrill each tallied goals three minutes apart from each other to jumpstart the Rattlers to an early 3-0 lead.

Denver finally got on the board thanks to an unassisted Ryan Powell goal at 4:30 of the first quarter. Grant extended Rochester’s lead to 4-1 with his second marker of the contest, however Denver’s Brian Langtry quickly responded 58 seconds later with a two-point goal to cut Rochester’s lead to 4-3.

The Rattlers and Outlaws exchanged pairs of goals during the second frame, with Rochester posting the first two with tallies from Zywicki and Grant to once again give the Rattlers a three-goal lead over the Outlaws. Denver received goals from Peter Streibel and Drew Westervelt to return back within a goal as the teams headed into halftime with the Rattlers holding a 6-5 lead over the Outlaws.

Rochester exploded in the second half with a 10-goal run as they held Denver scoreless in the third quarter and only allowed one goal in fourth to earn its first ever Major League Lacrosse Championship. Rochester ended the season at a franchise best 11-3.