Newswire: Millon Selected 1st in '13 MLL Supplement
BOSTON, Mass. (Wednesday, December 12, 2012)- Lacrosse Hall of Fame Attackman Mark Millon was selected as the first overall pick by the Rochester Rattlers, in the 2013 Major League Lacrosse Supplemental Draft on Wednesday afternoon. In all, 96 players were selected by the eight teams, from a pool of over 800 players.

Millon, who played collegiately at UMass, began his MLL career in the 2001 Inaugural Season with the Baltimore Bayhawks, where he spent most of his career and won a championship the following year. He also had stints with the Boston Cannons and the Long Island Lizards. From 2001 to 2007 he appeared in 80 games, scoring 239 goals and 114 assists and earning League co-MVP honors in 2005, as well as Offensive Player of the Year honors in 2002 and 2003. Millon was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2009.

Other notable names selected in the draft were MLL veteran and former Syracuse Attackman Casey Powell, 2009 Rookie of the Year Dan Hardy, who also played at Syracuse, and Chris Schiller (Penn State) who were all selected by the Chesapeake Bayhawks. Schiller was then traded to Charlotte in exchange for their 7th round selection in the 2014 Collegiate Draft.

Both Casey and Millon played in the first MLL showcase game in 2000.

All players who were not selected are now eligible to be claimed off waivers as the teams build their 40-man preseason rosters.

* * * *

ANNAPOLIS, MD – The Chesapeake Bayhawks of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) further strengthened their offense with attackman Grant Kaleikau (Delaware '12) as their first pick, 16th overall, in the 2013 MLL Supplemental Draft. Unlike most teams in the league, the Bayhawks acquired an offensively heavy total of 15 players during the draft, which was conducted by the MLL general managers and coaches via conference call.

Kaleikau, a Germantown, MD native, was selected by Bayhawks with the 27th overall pick in the 2012 Collegiate Draft but was not protected at the end of the 2012 MLL season. During his career as an attackman at the University of Delaware, Kaleikau registered 58 goals and 91 assists for 149 points. He was also Delaware's career leader in assists and led the Blue Hens to a CAA title. A two-time All-CAA selection and Tewaarton candidate, Kaleikau was named to the CAA All-Rookie team and will add depth to the already strong attack unit at Chesapeake.

"First of all, I'm excited and looking forward to rejoining the Bayhawks for the upcoming season," Kaleikau stated. "As for being the organizations first pick, it is quite an honor. When you look at some of the names in the draft and especially the players who the Bayhawks selected, I'm proud to know that I showed Coach Cottle enough last summer to re-select me with the first pick. I'll continue to work hard this off-season and hopefully get the opportunity to help the team win games this summer."

With the 24th overall pick, the Bayhawks selected another Delaware standout, midfielder Brett Manney (Delaware '08). Manney played three games for Chesapeake in 2011 totaling in 5 ground balls. He is currently playing National League Lacrosse (NLL) for the Philadelphia Wings.

Legendary attackman Casey Powell (Syracuse '98) was selected with the 32nd pick overall. Powell is one of the most decorated players in NCAA and MLL history. In 1998 Powell was chosen as the Turnbull winner as Nation's Top Attack Player for Division 1, and also won the Enners Award in both 1997 and 1998 as the Outstanding Player in Division 1. Powell was also awarded the McLaughlin Trophy in 1996 as the Nation's Top Midfielder. He holds the all time leading scoring record in MLL history, has three MLL Championships under his belt, was a two-time Offensive Player of the Year, and was an All-Star four times in his career.